Best Smart Ring 2026: Oura Ring 5 vs Ultrahuman vs RingConn (and Screenless Bands)

Affiliate links: as an Amazon Associate and through other programs, we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

Reviewed October 202611 min readEvidence-basedBy the NordVital editorial team · How we review

Short answer: for sleep and overnight heart rate variability (HRV), the Oura Ring 5 has the most published testing behind it, although every study so far used an earlier Oura generation. It is a premium ring and needs a membership ($5.99 a month or $69.99 a year in the US) for its full data. For no subscription, choose the RingConn Gen 3 or the Ultrahuman Ring PRO; on a budget, the screenless Fitbit Air band. None of these is a medical device, and none can tell you exactly how much deep or REM sleep you got on a given night.

We do not list device prices because they change often, so check the current price before you buy. Subscription fees are each brand’s own US prices, checked October 5 to 8, 2026.

Which one to choose, by priority

🏷️ Best Price

Smart Ring Health Tracker

Prices change often — tap through for the current price. We earn a small commission at no extra cost to you

Sleep and overnight HRV: Oura Ring 5

Of the ring brands compared here, only Oura has published comparisons with sleep-lab tests and ECG in PubMed. The Ring 5, launched May 28, 2026, is 40% smaller than the Ring 4 and lasts 6 to 9 days per charge (Oura). Without the membership, the app shows only the three daily scores (Readiness, Activity and Sleep), not the detailed data (Oura Membership).

Check the Oura Ring 5 price on Amazon

Training with no subscription: Garmin Cirqa

Garmin’s first screen-free band, announced July 21, 2026, tracks sleep stages, overnight HRV, skin temperature and Pulse Ox, and adds training readiness, HRV status and VO2 max in the Garmin Connect app, with up to 10 days per charge and no subscription required (Garmin).

Check the Garmin Cirqa price on Amazon

A recovery coach with a yearly fee: WHOOP

The WHOOP sensor comes with an annual membership in three tiers: One (sleep, strain and recovery), Peak (adds the Health Monitor for HRV, resting heart rate and respiratory rate) and Life (adds the MG sensor with ECG and blood pressure insights) (WHOOP). WHOOP 5.0 is rated for 14+ days per charge. Its recovery score is WHOOP’s own formula, so follow the trend, and see our cold plunge recovery guide for the evidence on recovery methods.

Check the WHOOP 5.0 price on Amazon

A ring with no subscription: RingConn Gen 3 or Ultrahuman Ring PRO

RingConn says the Gen 3 needs no subscription, lasts up to 14 days and tracks sleep stages, HRV, skin temperature, blood oxygen and sleep apnea risk indicators (RingConn). Ultrahuman’s redesigned Ring PRO lasts up to 15 days with no mandatory subscription (Ultrahuman). Neither has a published sleep-lab validation yet.

Check the RingConn Gen 3 price on Amazon

Check the Ultrahuman Ring PRO price on Amazon

On a budget: Fitbit Air

The Fitbit Air lasts up to 7 days and measures heart rate, HRV, blood oxygen, sleep stages and skin temperature variation. Three months of Google Health Premium are included, then it renews at $9.99 a month unless you cancel; features such as the Health Coach need it (Google). For a cheaper ring with no subscription, look at RingConn’s Gen 2 Air.

Check the Fitbit Air price on Amazon

Check the RingConn Gen 2 Air price on Amazon

Shopping for someone else? Our wellness gift guide groups these and other recovery gifts by budget.

Smart rings compared: Oura vs Ultrahuman vs RingConn

Brand specs from each brand’s official pages, checked October 5 to 8, 2026. “Not stated” means we did not find it there.

SpecOura Ring 5Ultrahuman Ring PRORingConn Gen 3
Price tierPremiumPremiumMid-range
Subscription$5.99 a month or $69.99 a yearNone requiredNone required
Battery6–9 daysUp to 15 daysUp to 14 days
SensorsTri-LEDs, photodetectors, temperature, accelerometerPPG, temperature, 6-axis motionNot stated
Sleep stagesYesYesYes (estimated)
HRVYesYesYes
TemperatureYesYesYes
SpO2YesNot statedYes
AppOuraUltrahumanRingConn
US salesYesRing PRO yes; Ring AIR not sold directlyYes, licensed by Oura

💡 Prices are approximate and were last reviewed in October 2026. Retailer prices change often — tap a button for the current price on Amazon or iHerb.

Screenless bands compared: Fitbit Air vs WHOOP vs Garmin Cirqa

Brand specs from Google, WHOOP and Garmin official pages, checked October 8, 2026.

SpecFitbit AirWHOOP 5.0 and MGGarmin Cirqa
Price tierBudgetAnnual membership, sensor includedMid-range
SubscriptionOptional Premium: 3 months included, then $9.99 a monthRequired: One, Peak or Life, billed yearlyNone required
BatteryUp to 7 days14+ daysUp to 10 days
SensorsOptical heart rate, accelerometer, gyroscope, red and infrared, temperaturePPG, accelerometer, skin temperature; ECG on MGHeart rate, Pulse Ox, skin temperature
Sleep stagesYesSleep tracking in every tierYes
HRVYesYes (Health Monitor on Peak and Life)Yes
TemperatureYes (variation)YesYes
SpO2YesNot stated for 5.0Yes (Pulse Ox)
AppGoogle HealthWHOOPGarmin Connect

What subscriptions add over two years: Oura $139.98 on the annual plan; Fitbit Air $0, or $209.79 if you keep Premium after the included months; WHOOP renews its whole membership every year; RingConn, Ultrahuman and Garmin $0.

What independent accuracy studies show

Sleep labs use polysomnography (PSG), which records brain waves; rings and bands estimate sleep from pulse, movement and temperature. HRV is checked against an electrocardiogram (ECG). Almost every study tested an older model.

Sleep: good at total sleep, weak at wake and stages

  • Original Oura ring (41 young people, published 2019): it caught 96% of sleep but only 48% of wake, and underestimated deep sleep by about 20 minutes (de Zambotti et al., 2019).
  • Oura Gen 2, WHOOP 3.0, Garmin Forerunner 245, Apple Watch S6 and two other devices (53 adults): sleep-versus-wake agreement was 86–89% for all, but sleep-stage agreement was 61% for Oura, 60% for WHOOP, 53% for Apple and 50% for Garmin (Miller et al., 2022). The lab receives WHOOP funding.
  • Oura Gen 3, Fitbit Sense 2, Apple Watch Series 8 (35 adults): Oura did not differ from PSG on time in each stage, while Fitbit underestimated deep sleep by 15 minutes and Apple by 43 (Robbins et al., 2024). Oura funded the study.
  • Oura Gen 3 (96 adults): 91.7–91.8% epoch accuracy, but only 73–75% of wake was detected; three authors reported Oura funding (Svensson et al., 2024).
  • Oura and two other rings in sleep-clinic patients: Oura’s average total sleep was within 12 minutes of PSG, but four-stage accuracy was 53% and single nights often missed by a lot (Herberger et al., 2025).
  • Oura and Fitbit Sense 2 in adults aged 56–80: both underestimated total sleep by about 75 minutes (Searles et al., 2026).
  • WHOOP 4.0 and five wrist devices (62 adults): all caught over 90% of sleep but only 29–52% of wake (Schyvens et al., 2025).

Pooled data agree. Across six studies (388 people), Oura’s averages for total, deep and REM sleep did not differ significantly from PSG or actigraphy (Khan et al., 2025). A 2026 review found no device consistently best and judged wearables fit for long-term self-tracking, not detailed sleep staging (Agostinho et al., 2026). For finger-worn devices, pooled accuracy was 87% for sleep versus wake, and 65%, 81% and 74% for light, deep and REM sleep (Jin et al., 2026).

HRV and heart rate: strong at night, weaker on the move

  • Oura Gen 3 and Gen 4, WHOOP 4.0, Garmin Fenix 6, Polar Grit X Pro (13 adults, 536 nights against ECG): overnight HRV concordance was 0.99 for Oura Gen 4, 0.97 for Gen 3, 0.94 for WHOOP, 0.87 for Garmin and 0.82 for Polar (Dial et al., 2025).
  • Oura against a chest ECG at home (35 adults): nightly heart rate and RMSSD, the HRV value most apps show, were accurate (Cao et al., 2022).
  • Daytime heart rate (45 adults): Oura Gen 3 was among the devices with larger errors (9–14 beats per minute on average across that group), against 4.5 for the Fitbit Charge 6 (Gielen et al., 2026).

What has not been tested yet

A PubMed search on October 8, 2026 found no validation of the Oura Ring 5, Fitbit Air, Garmin Cirqa or WHOOP 5.0, and no PSG study of an Ultrahuman or RingConn ring. Oura calls the Ring 5 its “most accurate generation yet”; for now that is the company’s claim. Use these devices for trends over weeks, for example whether a new bedtime or magnesium for sleep changes how long you sleep, not to score one night.

US availability: the Oura patent case

In 2024, Oura asked the U.S. International Trade Commission (ITC) to block smart ring imports from Ultrahuman, RingConn and Circular (Federal Register, April 17, 2024). Circular settled. On August 21, 2025, the ITC found that Ultrahuman and RingConn rings infringed Oura’s U.S. Patent 11,868,178 and ordered an import ban and cease and desist orders (Federal Register, August 26, 2025), with October 21, 2025 as the cut-off date in Ultrahuman’s customer notice (Ultrahuman).

  • RingConn signed a multi-year license with Oura, announced October 21, 2025, and keeps selling in the US in exchange for royalties (RingConn); in December 2025 the ITC lifted its orders against RingConn (Federal Register, December 12, 2025).
  • Ultrahuman says the Ring AIR cannot be bought directly from it in the US (Ultrahuman FAQ, September 23, 2026). Its redesigned Ring PRO opened US pre-orders on March 24, 2026, after clearance from U.S. Customs and Border Protection (Ultrahuman). If you buy Ultrahuman in the US, check that the listing is the Ring PRO.

Who should not buy one

  • Anyone who wants a diagnosis. Oura says its ring is not a medical device and cannot diagnose sleep apnea (Oura); Google and Garmin say their blood oxygen features are not for diagnosis. Finger-worn devices can flag severe sleep apnea but should not replace a sleep study for milder cases (Jin et al., 2026).
  • Anxious score-checkers. Sleep specialists named orthosomnia after patients whose effort to perfect tracker data worsened their insomnia (Baron et al., 2017).
  • Older adults who want exact numbers. Errors were larger in people aged 56–80 (Searles et al., 2026).
  • Athletes who need exact heart rate during intervals. Errors rose with irregular movement; the studies above used ECG chest straps as the reference (Gielen et al., 2026).
  • People who already track sleep and HRV with a watch. A ring or band would mostly duplicate the same data.

A tracker measures sleep; it does not improve it. For habits and supplements with trial evidence, see our evidence-based sleep stack.

FAQ

Does the Oura Ring 5 work without a membership?

Partly. Without the membership ($5.99 a month or $69.99 a year in the US), the app shows only the Readiness, Activity and Sleep scores. Detailed sleep, heart rate, temperature and blood oxygen data need it. The first month is included.

Is Ultrahuman banned in the US?

The ITC orders cover the Ultrahuman rings found to infringe Oura’s patent, and the Ring AIR is not sold directly in the US. The redesigned Ring PRO opened US pre-orders on March 24, 2026, after clearance from U.S. Customs.

Which is more accurate for sleep, a ring or a wrist band?

Neither wins outright. In one lab study, the Oura Gen 2 ring and the WHOOP 3.0 band had similar sleep-stage agreement with PSG (61% and 60%). Reviews find no device consistently best, and all detect sleep far better than wake.

Can a smart ring diagnose sleep apnea?

No. Oura says its ring cannot, and RingConn calls its feature risk indicators. Finger-worn devices can flag severe sleep apnea, but milder cases still need a sleep study.

Are smart rings accurate for HRV?

At night, the best-studied ones are: overnight HRV from Oura Gen 3 and Gen 4 closely matched ECG (concordance 0.97 to 0.99). Daytime readings during movement are less reliable, and Ultrahuman and RingConn rings have no published ECG comparison yet.

Sources

Studies

  1. de Zambotti M, Rosas L, Colrain IM, Baker FC. The Sleep of the Ring: Comparison of the OURA Sleep Tracker Against Polysomnography. Behav Sleep Med. 2019;17(2):124-136. PMID 28323455
  2. Miller DJ, Sargent C, Roach GD. A Validation of Six Wearable Devices for Estimating Sleep, Heart Rate and Heart Rate Variability in Healthy Adults. Sensors (Basel). 2022;22(16):6317. PMID 36016077
  3. Robbins R, Weaver MD, Sullivan JP, et al. Accuracy of Three Commercial Wearable Devices for Sleep Tracking in Healthy Adults. Sensors (Basel). 2024;24(20):6532. PMID 39460013
  4. Svensson T, Madhawa K, Nt H, et al. Validity and reliability of the Oura Ring Generation 3 (Gen3) with Oura sleep staging algorithm 2.0 (OSSA 2.0) when compared to multi-night ambulatory polysomnography. Sleep Med. 2024;115:251-263. PMID 38382312
  5. Herberger S, Aurnhammer C, Bauerfeind S, et al. Performance of wearable finger ring trackers for diagnostic sleep measurement in the clinical context. Sci Rep. 2025;15(1):9461. PMID 40108409
  6. Searles ME, Licata A, Cucinotta M, et al. Performance evaluation of consumer sleep-tracking wearables and nearables in healthy young and older adults. Sleep Adv. 2026;7(1):zpag006. PMID 41768372
  7. Schyvens AM, Peters B, Van Oost NC, et al. A performance validation of six commercial wrist-worn wearable sleep-tracking devices for sleep stage scoring compared to polysomnography. Sleep Adv. 2025;6(2):zpaf021. PMID 40303381
  8. Khan S, Ibrahim AF, Vasudevan SS, et al. The Oura Ring Versus Medical-Grade Sleep Studies: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. OTO Open. 2025;9(4):e70181. PMID 41230431
  9. Agostinho M, Borges M, Pereira T, et al. Are Wearable Sleep-Tracking Devices Reliable Alternatives to Polysomnography? A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. Behav Sleep Med. 2026 (online ahead of print). PMID 42175611
  10. Jin Y, Xu J, Yue H, et al. Performance evaluation of finger-worn devices for sleep stage classification and sleep apnea detection: a systematic review and meta-analysis. J Transl Med. 2026;24(1):873. PMID 42141446
  11. Dial MB, Hollander ME, Vatne EA, et al. Validation of nocturnal resting heart rate and heart rate variability in consumer wearables. Physiol Rep. 2025;13(16):e70527. PMID 40834291
  12. Cao R, Azimi I, Sarhaddi F, et al. Accuracy Assessment of Oura Ring Nocturnal Heart Rate and Heart Rate Variability in Comparison With Electrocardiography in Time and Frequency Domains. J Med Internet Res. 2022;24(1):e27487. PMID 35040799
  13. Gielen J, Van Oost CN, Debard G, et al. Accuracy of Optical Heart Rate Measurements for 10 Commercial Wearables in Different Climate Conditions and Activities. JMIR Form Res. 2026;10:e85186. PMID 41701929
  14. Baron KG, Abbott S, Jao N, et al. Orthosomnia: Are Some Patients Taking the Quantified Self Too Far? J Clin Sleep Med. 2017;13(2):351-354. PMID 27855740

Official and regulatory sources

  • Oura. Introducing Oura Ring 5 (May 28, 2026). ouraring.com
  • Oura. Discover Oura Ring 5 (updated July 27, 2026), Oura Membership (updated September 8, 2026) and Oura and Medical Conditions (updated July 14, 2026). support.ouraring.com
  • Oura. Blog post on the Brigham and Women’s Hospital study (October 9, 2024), which states that Oura funded it. ouraring.com
  • Ultrahuman. Ultrahuman is back in the U.S. (press release, March 24, 2026) and Ring PRO US product pages (checked October 8, 2026). cyborg.ultrahuman.com
  • RingConn. RingConn Gen 3: What’s New (May 10, 2026) and Gen 3 product page (checked October 8, 2026). ringconn.com
  • Google. Introducing the new Google Fitbit Air (May 7, 2026) and Google Store tech specs (checked October 8, 2026). blog.google
  • WHOOP. Membership Pricing (May 28, 2026) and Unlock New with WHOOP 5.0 (August 27, 2025). support.whoop.com
  • Garmin. Meet CIRQA Smart Band (press release, July 21, 2026). garmin.com
  • U.S. International Trade Commission, Investigation No. 337-TA-1398: notices of August 26, 2025 and December 12, 2025. federalregister.gov

Level up your recovery

Supplements work best alongside the right recovery tools. Explore our gear guides: